What each shop has announced
| Shop | Fee taken from the refund | Refund company | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Don Quijote | None; only cash at the airport has a fee | Not named | Official, 5 October 2026 |
| Yodobashi Camera | Not stated | Global Blue; cash on the spot at 11 stores | Official |
| Bic Camera | Reported as free (Bic pays); not on Bic’s own site | Reported: J-TaxRefund | Media only |
| Yamada Denki | Not stated | Ocean Tax Refund (web, WeChat, LINE) | Official |
| Tsuruha Drug | Reported as paid by the shop | Reported: J-TaxRefund | Media only |
| Takashimaya | A system handling fee; rate not published | Not named | Official |
| Isetan Mitsukoshi | A processing fee; rate not published | Not named | Official |
| Hankyu Hanshin | Global Blue system fee; the old 1.55% changes on 1 November | Global Blue | Official |
| Matsumoto Kiyoshi, Cocokara Fine, Sundrug, UNIQLO, GU, MUJI, Daimaru Matsuzakaya, Kintetsu, Seibu Sogo, outlet malls, AEON | Not published yet | – | Official sites checked |

How the fees work
Japan’s Tourism Agency says the rules do not decide whether the traveller or the shop pays the refund company’s fee, and the government itself charges nothing. The same purchase can therefore come back in full at one shop and with a deduction at another.
Before you pay, ask at the tax-free counter which refund company the shop uses and what is deducted. Cash at the airport can cost extra: it is the only fee Don Quijote mentions.
JPrefund, one of the refund companies, gives 0.1–0.5% of the refund as a guide to its remittance fee. Yodobashi Camera pays cash on the spot at 11 stores if you register a credit card; the refund still depends on the customs check when you leave.
Coupons still offered
Some shops still publish visitor coupons: Hankyu 5%, Daimaru Matsuzakaya 5% on ¥3,000 or more including tax, and Kintetsu Abeno Harukas 5% on ¥2,000 or more before tax. Don Quijote lists tax-free coupons on its tax-free page.
Useful before you fly
Airport transfer when you have a lot of shopping bags
Luggage storage in Tokyo for the hours before an evening flight
This page is updated
Shops are still announcing their rules. We check the shops above again after 1 November 2026 and add any rate they publish.

